#manmovement

If you looked at the title of this post, you probably thought,

“Man, this guy is totally a chauvinist.”

Or…

“This guy has some serious huevos to be writing on this!”

Well, I am here to tell you that none of that is true.  My goal in this life is to become self-realized and share the love of God with every person I meet. BUT, I happen to be a man and kind of enjoy it!  What I enjoy being about a man is probably the same for every other male, but there are some very stereotypical things particular to me, that I feel have helped me get ahead in this world. These characteristics, I feel, allowed people, patients, and clients to warm up to me easier than other aspects.

Here’s what’s typical (and funny):

  • you don’t have to remember everyone’s birthdays and anniversaries
  • you could wear the same thing every day and it is TOTALLY acceptable
  • you get a ton of of extra credit for being slightly thoughtful
  • you can whip off your shirt on a hot day and not be arrested for it
  • you could be losing your hair, have gone totally gray, or have a beer gut, and still be considered sexy

Those above aspects are truly funny and truly true!  Below are the aspects that I feel have gotten me ahead in the world.  Without them, I would have to work much harder to gain people’s admiration and trust. (I think.)

Besides being male…

  • I am white
  • I am bald
  • I am fully bearded with some graying
  • I love Jesus
  • I am a US citizen
  • I am married to a beautiful woman
  • I have no kids

Based on the aspects above, I have the greatest privilege in the world, I look experienced, but still have the vigor of someone in their prime.  I fit the religious mold that everyone accepts around me, I am heterosexual, and married to someone extremely good-looking (red-head, can’t beat it).  Finally, I have no kids, which allows me more free time to do what I want, when I want, without the frustration of worrying about finances, scarring my children emotionally with constant moving, or having to extend myself beyond the boundaries of my wife and I.

All in all, I feel like I fit the mold perfectly.  But, because of this, I have decided to break the mold of the average male and be involved with:

  • barbershop quartets (still pretty manly I think)
  • partner dancing including: West Coast Swing, Lindy Hop, and Ballroom
  • attendance at musicals, ballets, and the orchestra
  • involving my time and attention with children’s movies, Disney movies, romance, drama, and whatever else the wife is watching
  • practicing yoga, meditation, and writing books on both!
  • and sometimes… when I was in medical school, stressed to the max, I learned to crochet, so I could occupy my ADHD brain, while still attempting to relax

OK, so there you have it.  I like being male, because it has gotten me ahead in the world, but it has also has given me an opportunity to go beyond the limits of a normal, middle-aged, white-male stereotype.  All in all, I am pretty blessed!

Can it get any better?  Hm.  Something to ponder for another day.

One thought on “#manmovement”

Leave a Reply

